Anniversary ‘date night’ at Browns Cambridge

Browns-Restaurant-and-Bar-960x300_c
Browns may be a chain restaurant, but it’s a classy one!
Browns
Browns is located on Trumpington Street, Cambridge, in a beautiful building which is a converted wing of the old Addenbrooke’s hospital site

IMG_20160406_2001539

We loved the high ceilings and spacious interior, which is both stylish and elegant

IMG_20160406_1958597
We drank my favourite beer – draught Peroni lager

IMG_20160406_2006508

IMG_20160406_2005547

Steve chose asparagus and prosciutto ham with poached free range egg in hollandaise sauce for his starter, and I had the crab and avocado concoction with crostini and watercress. Although both were excellent dishes I wished I had chosen his!

IMG_20160406_2022526

My main course was perfectly cooked pan fried sea bass fillets, and barley risotto with mushrooms and crispy shallots in garlic and parsley butter. Simple but delicious.

IMG_20160406_2023245
Steve’s main course was salmon fillet with seafood tagliatelle in a rich tomato and basil sauce, which wasn’t actually what he had ordered, but he enjoyed it anyway!

IMG_20160406_2052396

My dessert was salted caramel pot with cream, and truly scrumptious shortcake biscuits

IMG_20160406_2055196
Steve chose a quartet of British cheeses served with Bramley Apple butter, biscuits and grapes, accompanied by a glass of Tawny Port

The heart shaped biscuits seemed an appropriate symbol for our 3rd anniversary!

2013-07-03_14.47.01

Our next stop was The Snug Kitchen and Bar on Lensfield Road for a nightcap

IMG_20160406_2227552

I loved the distinctive interior design of The Snug where I enjoyed a …….

IMG_20160406_2135583
Pina colada cocktail, even though it was served by a bar-person who looked like it was the last place on earth she wished to be!

Last week Steve and I decided to have dinner in the grand cafe setting of Browns Brasserie on Trumpington Street in Cambridge. It was a special occasion for us (3rd anniversary) but we wanted a low-key celebration, and to eat in a place where we wouldn’t be disappointed. I don’t usually promote a chain restaurant on my blog, but I am happy to make an exception for Browns, which is a beautiful building with a buzzing atmosphere.

Pro’s and Con’s – my first thought when I removed my coat and sat down was how chilly I felt in the restaurant. There appeared to be no heating on and the air-con blew cool, although it was a cold night outside with a bitter wind. I had to put my coat back on and then I didn’t remove it all night!

We were served with a jug of water at table whilst perusing the menu, but no bread was offered. The starters and main courses were all very tasty, freshly cooked and pleasing to the eye, but in my opinion the portion sizes of the dishes we chose were on the small side. My pan-fried Sea bass fillets were crisp and cooked to perfection, and for my dessert I was delighted by the taste and richness of the salted caramel pot, served with cream and accompanied by excellent shortcake biscuits. Steve chose the cheeseboard, which at £10.50 I considered to be over-priced, but he appreciated the selection of British cheeses.

Despite my minor quibbles we enjoyed our meal and the evening, and the service was good as always, so we overlooked the mistake with our order. Browns is known for traditional British food with a contemporary twist, and I like the wide range of choice on their menu. Prices are average for Cambridge at £30 a head for 3 courses, plus drinks and service. By coincidence I will be returning to Browns next week to sample and review their Afternoon Tea. 

We decided to end our anniversary date night with ‘one for the road’ at The Snug in Lensfield Road where I enjoyed an old favourite drink of mine, a Pina colada cocktail. Very retro!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Browns Brasserie and BarBrowns-Restaurant-and-Bar-960x300_c

23 Trumpington Street

Cambridge

CB2 1QA

The Snug Kitchen and BarKiFR0fHQ
 67 Lensfield Road
Cambridge
CB2 1EN
Phone: 01223 367684

http://www.thesnugbar.co.uk

3 thoughts on “Anniversary ‘date night’ at Browns Cambridge

  1. why hello there – first off, thanks so much for stopping by my blog, second – isn’t it fun that I have been looking into spending a weekend in Cambridge and trying to get a booking at the wonderful Midsummer House just today, and then your blog follow pops up on my blog, what a happy coincidence! Thanks very much for the follow, appreciate it, I will definitely check out your Cambridge recommendations, if not in may then some other month, it is so beautiful there – happy eating Poli

    Like

      • hi there Yvonne – lovely to hear back from you – there are restaurants close to me that fall in that category too, I haven’t been because they are expensive, when I am on holiday I feel different about prices though – all part of the holiday experience I guess :)! have a great weekend Poli

        Like

Leave a Reply

